What to do and see in Inverness

bigjohn

English friends(40yr old or so) of a friend are coming to Scotland on holiday in a few weeks time. Because I come up to watch the football they think I'm an expert in what to do and see in Inverness. I know the basics, but could someone be so kind as to suggest whats the best things for them to do while they visit? They are only there for a couple of days as they are doing all of Scotland in a four week tour. Thanks in advance

Depends what budget they have? Are they mobile (with car)?

Jacobite cruises is a great trip and there are different tours with different budgets. I went on the "Passion" (I know :ninja: ) tour in May and the weather was lovely so they may get lucky too.

Tell them to have a look on Trip Advisor. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/SmartDeals-g186543-Inverness_Scottish_Highlands_Scotland-Hotel-Deals.html

I was up at Durness at the weekend too visitted Smoo Cave which is well worth a visit if you're in the area.

I also knew there was a cosmic radiation shower due so kept the girls up in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. It didn't really occur to me that brighter nights in the summer would have such a big effect (doh!), we did however see several patterns (like green searchlights but nothing like the "shimmering net curtains" I've seen before) in the sky which I recognised as being "the lights" so at least they can say they've seen them. I'll take them back again.

Check for solar activity here and if they're lucky and have a clear night they could be in for a treat as the nights draw in.

A lot of things to do surrounding Inverness, most of which would require a car or use of public transport

Culloden battlefield

Fort George

Brodie Country Fayre

Brodie Castle

Urquhart Castle

Dolphin watching at Chanonry or on one of the boats

Distillery Tours - plenty of distilleries within a short drive away.