Old sweeties

I was thinking of one Torquil Macleod!

One New Year, when we were 15, my pal and I first footed Torquil in Auldcastle Road in the hope of getting a drink. We were not disappointed because he fed us with Gin :lol:

Latterly Torquil, who was the Royal Academy's first ever guidance teacher :crazy: , hit the drink so hard that he got early retirement at the age of 48!

One of my favourite old sweeties was Puff Candy which was death on teeth - as was McCowan's Cow Toffee and Penny Dainties which in the 60s were far from dainty since you had to cram them in your mouth, they were so large. Sticks of liquorice were also popular, as were Liqourice Allsorts and Aniseed Balls while Mr Christison in the shop in Dalneigh used to do a great line in frozen Milky Ways.

As a young teacher I had an unfortunate experience with Black Jacks. Just before Christmas I decided for a laugh to give out various sweets to pupils who answered questions correctly. In the course of this, the class started rolling about laughing - because the boy to whom I had inadvertently given a Black Jack happened to be well known as 25% "ethnically different" from the Caucasian majority in the class.

Nowadays that would have caused a huge furore.

On which subject, whatever happened to Black Magic - or did these fall victim to Political Correctness as well?

Edited by Charles Bannerman

If I remember correctly, Torquil was in the Academy as a pupil (or was it a teacher, ha! ?) when I first went there at the age of 12  i.e 1950. Would that be correct Charles?

Whatever, the name is very familiar, maybe because it was mentioned as an acquaintance of my sister and her pals who also started there 3 years prior to my entry.

so to help Charles out we have: 

Caramac

caramac1.jpg

BonBons

rhubarb_and_custard_bonbons_jar.jpg

Sherbet Fountain

Barrett-sherbet-fountain-006.jpg

Walnut Whip (which has not gone away)

walnut-whip_11.png

and to add my own further contributions

Chewits