Nuclear Power

Laurence

Dont see why Scotland would require Nuclear weapons ! However, if there is still anything left of the UK armed forces if, as and when Scotland did gain independence, then I would assume the politicos would negotiate ownership of a proportionate amount of resources from that armed forces ......

Not sure about SMEE's 7X comment .... I would have thought that at the current levels of efficiency, Scotland would not be able to rely on 'alternative' energy sources - at this time - but technology is advancing (quickly) and Scotland would be in a good place given the geography and weather to be a major generator of wind, wave and hydro energy in the future.

My day job is software asset management with an engineering company and our division that covers sustainable resources or green power, whatever you want to call it, seems to be expanding almost exponentially these days !!!

a lot of focus goes on "Scotland's Oil" and how its been stolen from us or we've been shafted .... in truth, its not Scotland's oil or UK oil ... its ESSO's oil or SHELL and they could not give a rats ass about Scotland, UK, or anywhere else, just about the money ...... but Scotland will be a major player as that particular resource becomes more and more scarce and therefore even more ridiculously expensive and technology advancements make our endless supply of waves/wind a cherished natural replenishable resource.

• Agree 1

Not sure about SMEE's 7X comment ....

I think the article was referring to Scotland in the near future, when all the planned windfarms are in place. If i remember correctly, this fact was mentioned in a report about Donald Trumps objetions to a wind farm just off his multi million pound Golf Course Development near Aberdeen