FACEBOOK LOGIN ×

Gaelic in Inverness

Linwoodictsc

is the gaelic language strong in Inverness (Inbhir-nis) or is it dieing on it's feet,

it is starting to thrive in my part of the country with classes all the time

i started learning a couple of years ago but i find it quite hard although BBC A lba is a good help

thoughts please

Its dying a death EVERYWHERE...despite the amount of money been thrown at it. Wish they would let it go quietly. And dont get me started on the Highland Council Gaelic Clique and their create a job for the boys brigade. Its Infuriating! Theres only 2% of the population speak it FFS! :rotflmao:

To put it in context....in my near 40 yrs on this planet....i have heard gaelic been spoken TWICE in everyday life. Thats no exhageration!

Polish is more commonly heard in the Sneck these days.

Polish is more commonly heard ALL over Scotland, never mind Inverness. Not that i want Polish getting the Gaelic treatment either.

As most of my family speak the gaelic, 1 generation and upwards of me, i have heard it all my life, but just really know the swear words myself. I plumped for French in school to annoy my Mother.

Thats what you get with parents from the Western Isles though.

Its dying a death EVERYWHERE...despite the amount of money been thrown at it. Wish they would let it go quietly. And dont get me started on the Highland Council Gaelic Clique and their create a job for the boys brigade. Its Infuriating! Theres only 2% of the population speak it FFS! :rotflmao:

To put it in context....in my near 40 yrs on this planet....i have heard gaelic been spoken TWICE in everyday life. Thats no exhageration!

Polish is more commonly heard in the Sneck these days.

Polish is more commonly heard ALL over Scotland, never mind Inverness. Not that i want Polish getting the Gaelic treatment either.

it's not dying in Renfrewshire, in fact it's flourishing with classes most nights of the week that are well attended