FACEBOOK LOGIN ×

New ICT song

BornCaley

Hey

someone in a previous thread mentioned that the song "Bring it on home" is not being played anymore due to copyright issues...which is fair enough if the songwrighter (who i know) wants the money. But i wanted something put forward via the Supporters Trust and dont know how to submit an idea..perhaps someone from the trust can reply.

Apart from supporting ICT and working like everyone else, i am also a musician/songwriter with my own studio in Edinburgh...so basically i would like to help solve the copyright issue by writing & recording a new song for ICT to play "copyright free" at home games.

Do we need a song ?

To be honest i always thought "Bring it on home" was a bit cringeworthy and was written after the merger issue...

So what do our brothers & sister think?

peace

fair play to you BornCaley ..... hope some bright sparks can show their songwriting skills to come up with something.

Its a shame that the current song cant be used because of copyright issues but as you say, it is a bit cringeworthy and once the initial "retro-appreciation" of it died down we would probably want rid of it again.

Toronto FC fans have been hunting around for an official "anthem" for a little while and one of the songs that was discussed was "My Town" by Glass Tiger .... In contrast to the copyright issues mentioned above, in this case, the band responded very positively to the guy who sent his manager an email ... presumably because they might gain some new found popularity because of it:

[note: Toronto FC (the club) actually had a song written/recorded for them by the Barenaked Ladies - who are big "soccer" fans but it was instantly forgettable .... the glass tiger song is the fan choice.]

Here's the guys email