FACEBOOK LOGIN ×

Masters Indoor Football

Alex MacLeod

MASTERS!? What a load of transatlantic politically correct nonsense. The appropriate term is VETERANS. After all the essential element of a competition like this is that those taking part are OLD.... and no disrespect to them for that.

We've been through this pantomime in athletics already. For decades, athletics for old people was accurately entitled Veteran competition. Then some PC prat from across the pond decided to euphemise the situation and call it "Masters". It's almost as if, in the best PC tradition, they're in denial about getting old and about labelling people in that sense so they've tried to confer some degree of competence on the situation instead.

I never really was all that good at running so just because I've become old, that shouldn't entitle me to be called a Master, but by God I am a Veteran.

Now as it happens, people like Jimmy Calder, Charlie, Parkie, Brewster etc (IHE's suggestion  of Vetle is of course to be viewed like most IHE suggestions of this nature) are also genuine masters. I would also like to add my own nomination of Herchie as a Master as well as a Veteran. In fact there are so many worthy bearers of the title from the era when Inverness underwent its transition from Highland to Scottish Football League.

But I digress here and let's not allow what I've said there to obscure the silliness of the title as a whole. As a generality, the term Masters is nonsensical. Lets say it as it really is. These are games for old footballers, some more masterful than others, and let's not lose sight of that.

Mantis... complete agreement. Herchie's contribution both to Caley's latter days and to the early history of (I)CT was massive. Only to mention CT's first hat trick v Arbroath and a vital goal v Livingston in the Cup campaign which ended in the quarter finals against Rangers is almost to **** the man with faint praise.